Letter of Termination

C/O 2017

17 2nd Millenium St.

My life, Here and Now

 

Dear 2017,

I can truly say I may owe you one. You’ve served a large purpose as Life Coach. I know I am walking away so much stronger, solely because you didn’t kill me. There were times I felt I was at the lowest of lows. Shortly after, you showed me it could be far worse.

You’ve taken people out of my life that I love, and inserted several people that I do not. You’ve awoken copious insecurities and fears through various scenarios. You showed me Bumble dating. Enough said there. Typically in this situation I’d tell you you’re horrible and to hit the bricks. I still may like to, however I believe through many instances of hardship you so kindly provided, I have grown past that level of impetuous speech. A thank you is also in order.

Thank you for showing me how strong I really am. Thank you for waking up my soul. I know I’d had a few things shut off for a while. Because of you, I learned that pain, while taxing is a necessary evil. How will we feel good if we never take the risk required to get there? To remind me I was capable was something for which I’m grateful.

You brought me through career changes, struggles, fights, moves, injuries, and newfound trauma. I’m still here, 2017. Despite your constant showering of nonsense. Despite re-introducing the feeling of rejection into my life. I know you were helping. You showed me it comes in many forms in all parts of life. You showed me that well distressing, that feeling is not lethal.

You reminded me that trust should not be taken for granted. You showed me what it was like to have my trust mistaken and you tested my capability to trust others. Through your own twisted ways, you showed me I was ready for anything. You presented situations that forced me to instantaneously develop upon and navigate. You taught me how to still go into work every day even when I was so mentally, physically, and emotionally exhausted I didn’t think I could get out of bed.

Unfortunately, though, 2017—we won’t be spending any more time this way. I’ve been meeting with 2018 to make plans to go in a different direction. It’s not you. I know you’ve worked so hard this year strengthening me through the consistent valleys. Your methodology and rigid execution just aren’t things I’m subscribing to anymore. This is not a good fit going forward.

2018 and I are looking to move in a direction of positivity, self-love, and confidence. We’ve discussed new beginnings, strength, and consistently moving in the affirmative direction. I really like the things 2018 has to offer. As a result, 2018 will be taking over your position effective immediately. I do appreciate your hard work; however, it is no longer needed.

 

Best of luck in all your endeavors,

Meg Keller

Chief Executive Officer of My life

Here and now, and in the future

Published by

megschleyer

I’ve been described as the following by my friends and loved ones: •aggressive *gasp* •foul-mouthed •feisty •outspoken •direct •determined •driven •bold •loving •stubborn •offensive •entertaining •strong •southern •a guys’ girl I frequently speak in sarcasms. I give zero fucks about people knowing my business, because I’m not ashamed of who I am. I love Lilly Pulitzer and I also love sports. I ring true to opposite ends of the spectrum. I love my family with all my heart– blood and step. Shoutout mom and dad for divorcing (no I’m actually being serious. You’d get it if you met them now) once I was old enough to see the many benefits of having a huge, obnoxious, and so amazing family. I love my husband more than I love myself. He’s the only person on the planet worth honoring the dated, oppressed, political and strategic transaction that is marriage.

Leave a Reply

